SouthlandSport editor Nathan Burdon

Howzit. I’m SouthlandSport editor Nathan Burdon

Welcome to SouthlandSport. If you love your Southland sport, have a look around.

Stags confirm 2019 line up

Stags confirm 2019 line up

Rugby Southland has confirmed a 35-man squad to contest the 2019 Mitre 10 Cup.

“The squad of thirty five we have assembled is still one of the most local Mitre 10 Cup squads in the country, 26 of whom are from Southland,” Stags head coach Dave Hewett said.

“We also have players such as Marty McKenzie and Mike McKee who have returned to their home province after a few years away, but we are still proud to claim them as our own.

“We are excited about the squad, they are gelling very well and the new players in the squad are going to bring their own individual strengths to the Southland jersey.”

Elliot Dixon will be returning to the province, although with an upcoming international club deal in Japan, the union and Elliot have some processes to go through before he can take the field.

Seb Wileman (Reds) and Lausii Taliauli (Brumbies) both join the squad fresh from their respective Super Rugby campaigns across the Tasman. They will bring experience to the midfield and outside backs. 

This season kicks off against Northland at Rugby Park Stadium on Thursday August 8th, followed by a Ranfurly Shield challenge against Otago on August 17th  in what will be one of the biggest derbies of the Mitre 10 Cup.

The 2019 SIT Zero Fees Southland Stags Squad is as follows:


Joe Walsh – Woodlands

Ethan De Groot - Invercargill Blues

Chris Apoua - Star

Shaun Stodart - Marist

Morgan Mitchell - Toronto Arrows


Flynn Thomas - Marist

Brayden Mitchell – Star

Greg Pleasants-Tate    - Star



Manaaki Selby-Rickit    - Star

Ben Fotheringham  - Marist

Ray Tatafu - Invercargill Blues

Mike McKee - Asia Pacific Dragons


Loose Forwards

Ben Paulin - Invercargill Blues

Taine Te Whata - Invercargill Blues

Charles Alaimalo - Woodlands

Matt James - Woodlands

Phil Halder - Marist


Number 8’s

Bill Fukofuka - Invercargill Blues

Pasilio Tosi – Marist

Elliot Dixon - Highlanders



Jay Renton - Invercargill Blues

Nico Costa - Woodlands

Logan Crowley - Taranaki



1st Five Eights’

Mitchell Taylor - Invercargill Blues

Scott Eade - Marist

Marty McKenzie - Chiefs



Ray Nu’u - Green Island

Javaan Fa’amoe- Ioane   - Marist

Seb Wileman - Queensland Reds

Moses Faletolu - Woodlands


Outside backs

Lewis Ormond - Woodlands

Issac Te Tamaki - Pirates Old Boys

Rory Van Vugt - ENC Barbarians

Josh Moorby - Woodlands

Lausii Taliauli - Brumbies


Captain: TBC

Vice Captain:  TBC

Head Coach- Dave Hewett

Assistant Coach (Attack Coach) Jason Kawau

Assistant Coach (Defence Coach) Dale MacLeod   

Why the ILT Southland Sports Awards are so important

Why the ILT Southland Sports Awards are so important

VIDEO: Conor Shearing gears up for junior worlds

VIDEO: Conor Shearing gears up for junior worlds